Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Oh no more Animals!!!!

Discussion in 'Small Animal Chat' started by Midnight, Jul 5, 2009.

1. Midnight

Midnight PetForums VIP

Oh bloomin heck i've just come back from a garden centre in Horsham from buying a couple of plants now i've been talked into another 2 Gerbils and 3 mice !! :yikes: we already have 7 cats, 9 Degus, 4 Chinchillas, 2 gerbils and a hamster !! They are cute though :D i'll post some piccys later !! x

2. alyssa_liss

alyssa_liss PetForums VIP

piccys please :)

3. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

When i worked in the pet industry i ended up with 64 rat's, 15 gerbils, 4 rabbits, 13 guinea pigs, 6 mice, 4 parrots, plus my 2 dogs, and at the time 7 cats.

Ive learnt to say no now, unless its a matter of life and death.

4. Marcia

Marcia PetForums VIP

I still win! :D

I have 36 gerbils! :eek: :D

Pics please Kim :D

5. Midnight

Midnight PetForums VIP

36 Marcia :yikes: they are cute though aren't they :D the mice and Gerbils were being given away free there .. so i thought right at least they will have a good home with us !! has anyone any good information on mice :confused: that's one pet i've never had ? x

6. thedogsmother

thedogsmother PetForums VIP

Female mice are usually fine kept together in little colonies, adult males will usually fight and need to be seperated.

Fancy mice are much bigger that pet mice.

Mice love climbing and need good airflow so are best being kept in a cage rather than a tank but they are escape artists so be careful with bar spacing. Most people say bars with a 1cm spacing are ok but I find my 2 pet mice could get out if they really tried, the big ones are fine though.

They love climbing on ropes and you can take apart rope dog toys to make cheap fun things for them to climb on.