UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am completely new to the idea of raw feeding, I am being a typical uneducated human and feeling bit weird at the thought of my dog eating raw meat and organs...... however, from what I've seen on here it seems to be the better option so I'm open minded to it.

I will be getting a shihtzu puppy soon. What sort of raw would a shihtzu be able to eat? I've seen the stickys but theres so much info I can't see what Im looking for.

Could I feed a mixed diet so a good quality complete food for breakfast or lunch and then raw as dinner?

Do dogs eat the whole carcass? for example chicken? Would the smaller bones not hurt or cause problems going down?

Is it better to be completely raw or will cooking first be ok?

If its a big 'bone' can you take it away and re-feed the next day if necessary?

Sorry for the complete lack of knowledge but where better to find out then here!! :eek:

·
Registered
320 Posts
I am completely new to the idea of raw feeding, I am being a typical uneducated human and feeling bit weird at the thought of my dog eating raw meat and organs...... however, from what I've seen on here it seems to be the better option so I'm open minded to it.

I will be getting a shihtzu puppy soon. What sort of raw would a shihtzu be able to eat? I've seen the stickys but theres so much info I can't see what Im looking for.

Could I feed a mixed diet so a good quality complete food for breakfast or lunch and then raw as dinner?

Do dogs eat the whole carcass? for example chicken? Would the smaller bones not hurt or cause problems going down?

Sorry for the complete lack of knowledge but where better to find out then here!! :eek:
I've been feeding raw for a few weeks now so don't know everything.