Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

New to cat shows - Advice

Discussion in 'Cats Shows and Events' started by Cat_Crazy, Jul 19, 2009.

1. Cat_Crazy

Cat_Crazy PetForums VIP

Hi Everyone

I am VERY new to the cat show scene however I have a beautiful show/breed Birman and would love to take her along to the Birman Cat Club Show this November.

Problem is I have NOT got a clue where to begin.
    The breeder that I aquired Nala from was quite happy to mentor me both with breeding and showing but she lives quite a distance from me and can be tricky to get hold of as she is quite busy so it would be easier if I could get advice from someone closer.

I am in Cheshire if anyone fancies offering a bit of advice??

I am told that Nala is show quality and from reading the standards of points it appears that way but I don't really know what I am looking for.

I have her GCCF paperwork but where do I go from here.

If any breeders fancy offering some advice please do either here or through PM and if any breeders live close to me then that would be great!

2. messyhearts

messyhearts PetForums VIP

First you will need to wait for the show to publish a schedule & then make an entry based on that. If it is in November, it is unlikely until September perhaps for that to be published.

3. Kalipha

Kalipha PetForums Member

I'm very new to cat shows as well and hoping to start end of this year beginning of next. While I can't offer you any advice I'd be pleased to chat to you on a 'muddle it through together making it up as we go along' basis ;) The North West cat show is quite close to both of us (I'm in Manchester) so it might be worth going there to get a feel of what a cat show's like and talk to people (or you could even enter if you're really quick, it's all-breeds and entries close 11th August)

#3 Kalipha, Jul 19, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009