Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

new to all this, help :)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by emmaj89, Aug 10, 2011.

1. emmaj89

emmaj89 PetForums Newbie

hi guys im new to all this so any help will be much appreciated :) not really sure if iv done this right either.

im the proud new owner of a beautiful labradoodle puppy called poppy, she is 10 weeks old and iv had her a week on friday, toilet training..... hard work. any advice?

2. Rhyso

Rhyso PetForums Newbie

Wow, I would love one of them! I think the trick is just carbord in a corner and possitive reinforcement with treats. I personally am not a fan of the harsher punishment training methods, you want the puppy to like you and not be affraid so praise is good.

Rhys

3. Sleeping_Lion

Sleeping_Lion Banned

Consistency from day one, I don't use any indoor training methods, as I think it's confusing to teach a pup it's ok to toilet inside one minute, and expect them to go outside the next. Gentle praise when they get it right, associate a word or phrase if you want to, I use 'get busy' for mine. With pups, they may need to toilet after any activity, or inactivity, so after playing, eating, chewing something, or even just after sleeping. Get them out every half hour, and even set your alarm clock if necessary, to wake up and make one or two night time trips until they can hold their bladder. Never tell a pup off for getting it wrong, otherwise it may just lead to hiding toileting activities, no matter how frustrating it may seem, they don't do it in purpose. Clean up any accidents with a solution of biological washing powder in hot/warm water, to help dissolve any remnants, don't use a bleach based solution as the ammonia smell can encourage them to toilet in that area. :)

4. Rhyso

Rhyso PetForums Newbie