Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

New puppy

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Plutodoodle, Sep 11, 2018.

1. Plutodoodle

Plutodoodle PetForums Newbie

Hi all,
    Complete beginner here!
    Our new first gen labradoodle puppy is coming home in 2 weeks.
    I've been madly researching everything but am not sure what to do at night time.
    DH doesn't want puppy in the bedroom so we've got a medium crate with loads of comfy stuff inside which will open into a large playpen.
    Our bedroom is a long way from the puppys sleeping area so we won't hear any crying. I'm concerned about what is best in case he needs a wee in the night. Should be shut the crate and hope for the best or leave the crate open so he can get out and wee on the paper/mats? Or should I set an alarm and take him out then? If so when and how often?

Thanks, first of many questions I'm sure!

Xx

2. BlueJay

BlueJay Pee on it and walk away

Unless your bedroom is in a completely different street.... Do not underestimate the noise levels of a distressed puppy!!

Its generally not recommended to leave a pup to cry anyways. Everything is changing all at once for them; taken away from mother and siblings and everything they've ever known in life, then taken away to a brand new place with brand new people and brand new smells... And expected to settle and sleep all alone for the first time without issue.

Some pups adjust quickly, others do not. Sleeping next to pup and gradually moving either you or him away is probably going to be easier for everyone.

Also with toilets; you cant expect a tiny 8(?) week old puppy to last the night any more than you would a baby. Definitely set an alarm, expect to get up at least a couple of times during the night to begin with, and say goodbye to lie ins :)