Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

New owner trying to haggle cat caring fees!!

Discussion in 'Cat Breeding' started by Fendi, Oct 12, 2021 at 5:55 AM.

1. Fendi

Fendi PetForums Junior

I’ll try to keep this brief. Recently I sold one of my brits (boy).

The price was $1900 (which is ridiculously low compared to what others are charging but Im a newbie and am not doing it for the money - infact as most breeders are well aware I came in negative).

I was quite clear that the price included certain things ie desexing, food, etc etc.

The new owner was very adamant that she did NOT want him desexed. Infact we conversed via text message about this frequently as I did specify upfront that he would come desexed.

However as you may recall things turned in her favour as when I went to get him desexed one of his balls had not fully descended & thus my vet did not desex him. I informed her of this (ie not desexed) via texts as I’m a stickler for keeping records.

Now here’s the issue: at NO POINT did I change the price. I told her clearly, again all well documented, that the terms were still the same ie price but as his balls did not descend he would not be desexed (and she was really happy with this because it was what she wanted).

Today I received a text from her advising that she got him desexed and as there was complications could I pay? To be honest I’m gobsmacked!

I believe English is not her first language so I need to take this into consideration however I was always very clear and kept my written communications simple with her and at no point did it ever come across that she didn’t understand what was happening.