UK Pet Forums Forum banner
575 views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  lorilu 
#1 ·
Hello!

I have a few questions regarding the health of my new cat, Yuyu.

We got her from a farm on Tuesday, where they had way too many cats and nedded people to adopt them. She's apparently around half a year old, underweight and was an outdoor cat.

We took her to the vet on Thursday, where she got a general check-up, vaccines, anti-parasite and deworming medications. The vet didn't seem to find anything wrong apart from her being underweight, she has ear mites and probably a tapeworm (I found a small white worm-like thing on her fur) and she had a very slight fever, which the vet mentioned might've been caused by stress.

Since this is my first time owning an indoor cat, I have some questions.

- She has diarrhea. The vet said it is probably from the parasites/worms and I'm just wondering how long it'll take for it to go away and if it doesn't, when I should go back for a check-up? She's been eating wet food, can that be causing it too?

- She started coughing. She hacked up a hairball on Wednesday, but I caught her coughing twice more since then. I read online that can also be caused by worms? She also sneezed a few times, which might've been caused by the dust, since she was hiding under the bed at first. She hasn't sneezed since Wednesday. She also doesn't have a runny nose or any symptoms of a cold. The Vet didn't seem to find any problems with her breathing or anything else, but should I be concerned anyway? She also has long fur, could this just be caused by her fur?