Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

new born puppies and mum

Discussion in 'Dog Breeding' started by tiggerminx, Apr 13, 2011.

1. tiggerminx

tiggerminx PetForums Junior

I have recently breed my two Yorkshire terriers and the bitch has 2 pups (she did have 3 but one died at birth) and just looking for some helpful advice. just to add this is my first time at breeding so learning new things all the time.

The vets delivered the two pups the bitch has now (because the first pup died i didn't wanna risk the others being dead too) but we do not know the weight of the pups when they were born, is this something worth asking the vets? As we don't know the weight of the pups we weighed them that night (Monday), the girl weighed 72g and the boy weight 113g. She only started feeding off the mum yesterday so we left her to it for 3 feeds and have been feeding her formula (whelpi) the rest of the time but last night she lost 3g and went to 69g, (the boy is putting on weight (he's now 116g)). We weighed her again this morning and she's now 70g (an hour after last feed). How long should we leave it before contacting the vets regarding her weight gain (or lack of)?

Also the bitch has started to leave the pups in the whelping box for a few seconds but about 2 hours ago, she has been panting and digging while away from her pups, we were wondering if this has something to do with the first pup dying?

#1 tiggerminx, Apr 13, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011
  2. tashi

tashi PetForums VIP

Take it your vet checked there was no more there ;) and that the three afterbirths were present and correct. Was it a c section or just a normal aided birth

3. tiggerminx