Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

new 8 wk old border collie puppy

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by masonsfc1, Jun 23, 2009.

1. masonsfc1

masonsfc1 PetForums Newbie

Hi all, im new to all this allthough i have owned puppies before, i have heard lots of people saying that border collies are hard work and allways on the go, but how much energy should an 8 wk old puppy have???
    Mine seems to play for half hour then want to sleep for a couple of hours!!
    is this normal?? only i expected him to be nuts!!

2. clairescunny55

clairescunny55 PetForums Member

sounds like normal puppy behaviour. How long have you had him? he'll come out his shell soon enough :D

3. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

Sounds quite normal for such a young pup. As he gets older, his energy levels will raise, so start planning now on ways to keep him amused and mentally stimulated.

4. rona

rona Guest

Ha, you wait till he's 6 months, you won't be able to keep up. :D
    Make the most of the relative peaceful puppy time :lol::lol:

5. ad_1980

ad_1980 PetForums VIP

God don't! I've just experienced that with Mika - no peaceful time at night. Normally he's asleep by 9:30/10 but last night he wouldn't leave us alone and was quite high!

6. hutch6

hutch6 PetForums VIP

Don't ever complain about this again!!!!!!!