Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Myxomatosis

Discussion in 'Wildlife Chat' started by Dally Banjo, May 25, 2010.

1. Dally Banjo

Dally Banjo PetForums VIP

Is there any organisation that would do anything for some poor bunnys I pased today on a grass verge that were so obviously suffering would the rspca do anything :(

2. rona

rona Guest

Don't think there is :(
    Just hope some kind soul comes along and puts them out of their misery

3. Dally Banjo

I know :( when I was a kid the farmer up the road just went round shooting them so they would'nt suffer any longer it was terrible & Im sure an old fella we see on the splash & dash walk said the council or some powers that be have done it deliberately to get rid :mad: why cant they just do it quickly if thats the case sorry for the rant just so annoying seeing baby bunnies in such a state & if anyone did go out to pop them off they would probably end up in court for cruelty :rolleyes: :frown: think I'l nip & see the local rspca lady tomorrow just in case they can help.

4. MerlinsMum

MerlinsMum PetForums VIP

That's early. It's more often an issue in late summer/autumn.
    I guess the unseasonal hot weather has encouraged the rabbit fleas and biting insects to breed... I would have hoped the bad winter might have killed them off :(
    It's not going to be a good year for buns if it's taking a toll this early.... usually by the time it strikes the babies of the year are much older - some die, some don't get it, and the rest get immunity.

5. Dally Banjo

I did'nt realise that thanks feel a bit better thinking its not the local council trying to protect there litter infested flower beds :rolleyes:

At least the baby buns at our alotments are healthy :rolleyes: :D

6. MerlinsMum

MerlinsMum PetForums VIP