Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

My hens are eating their eggs...

Discussion in 'Poultry Chat' started by kaz_f, Aug 8, 2009.

1. kaz_f

kaz_f PetForums VIP

Why might they be doing this?
    I am new to keeping hens, am I doing something wrong?
    I am feeding them on ex-battery hen crumble with some corn mixed in. They have nest boxes and are able to scratch around on the grass in the garden but as soon as they lay an egg they peck it and eat it!
    Advice would be much appreciated.
    Cheers
    Karen

2. Cascara

Cascara PetForums Member

This is such a tricky one to handle. First make sure you check for eggs lots during the day and remove them soon as you can. Eating eggs can be through lack of food or vitamins, not so in this case, or lack of water, boredom, fun, habit. All it needs is one hen and soon they all start. I have tried blowing the eggs and filling with mustard, chilli, curry but they love it lol! You need to try and give them something they prefer to eggs!
    If it was just one or two hens then I move them to quarantine to save the others watching and following the habit. Try re-organising the coup, move the nest boxes or provide a deeper hay nesting box bedding, give them lots of other toys and things to do.

Good luck,

3. Beardy

Beardy PetForums Member

Do you give them grit? I would perhaps try a couple of pot eggs too, try & substitute them immediately that eggs are laid, it might help?

4. kaz_f

kaz_f PetForums VIP

Thank you for the advice, I think it's a case of trying to re-educate them not to peck the eggs because now whenever they lay one it's the first thing they think about doing.

Actually I haven't given them grit so will try that - Thank you.