Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

my black moor has tiny white spots!

Discussion in 'Fish Keeping Chat' started by lynski1, Sep 28, 2008.

1. lynski1

lynski1 PetForums Newbie

i just added this black moor to my tank 2 days ago ,ive noticed tiny pin head white spots appearing, im not sure if it white spot ,,or just stress .. please help ,as i dont want my other fish affected, p.s. im new to keeping fish ,,and just learning new things every day , ive had my 60 ltr tank for 2 months now ,,clean filter and water change once a week ,(just learned not to use tap water ! )oooooooops, but i now using water cleaner ,oh,, another question ,does boiling water and letting it cool,take chlorine and other harmful stuff out of the water? i was washing filter sponge under tap ,till i read up on the bacteria .dont do that no more ,clean it in fish water now, please dont shoot me down ,,as im so keen to learn ,and want my wee fish to be healthy and happy! any advice would be so appreciated thanx. its a cold water tank, under 68 temp, went to get a amonia and nitrate tester today,but pet shop dont do em ,sigh!

Attached Files:

#1 lynski1, Sep 28, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
  2. leoti

leoti PetForums VIP

looks like whit spot to me thats what i would treat it for :)

3. Kaz65

Kaz65 PetForums Member

Sounds like white spot. I would treat it for that sooner the better as your other fish will get it.

4. lynski1

lynski1 PetForums Newbie

i have been using white spot in my tank ,,will that helpit? y did it not have spots when i bought it? do i have the disease in my tank, the other fan tails look fine

5. lynski1

lynski1 PetForums Newbie

ive read that water change daily helps ,is that true

6. sullivan

sullivan PetForums VIP