Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

mum and daughter

Discussion in 'Dog Breeding' started by mgordon, Sep 2, 2013.

1. mgordon

mgordon PetForums Junior

I'm in need of advice again sorry. My lovely pups are now nearly 6 weeks old and fully weaned. Mum had enough once their teeth came in. Mum has excellent temperament but when some of the pups come near her she growls at them. One in particular is constantly in her face. She gets grumpy as they try to latch on. Now I know this is normal but we are keeping one of the pups and want mum and daughter to have a good relationship. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Will it all sort it self out once her milk completely dries up? Thanks

2. Phoolf

Phoolf PetForums VIP

I'm no expert but at 7 weeks old I'm not sure they should be still feeding on milk and should have been weaned? Happy to be corrected.

3. Tanji

Tanji PetForums Member

4. Ann Elizabeth

Ann Elizabeth PetForums Senior

Lily's puppies were weaned by six/seven weeks but Lily still liked to give them a sneaky feed - used to make me smile the puppies would have their meal, Lily would have hers and then she would stand and let them have a milk 'top up' - right up to when they left for their new homes! I kept one of her daughters and never had any problems, Lily hasn't growled at any of the pups, though she would discipline them if their playing got out of hand.