Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Morkie Puppy Grooming Help!

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by BeeHughes, Apr 4, 2020.

1. BeeHughes

BeeHughes PetForums Newbie

Hello everyone,

I am new to pet forums, and a first time puppy owner.

I have a 4 months 24 days old morkie girl puppy, she has long hair and doesn't really like to be brushed unless really tired. (She has previously been to the groomers for a puppy groom, and was scheduled for another last week but due to covid-19, the salon closed)

Sadly, she has a number of mats on her hair that I just cannot get out with brushing or combing. I have used a detangling spray and even coconut oil. I brush her everyday to try and loosen them but nothing works.

I don't want to cut her hair as I was told I have to wait till 8 months to avoid skin problems, but I feel terrible she has so many mats.

Will I have to cut them as a last resort? I would appreciate any advice and tips! (the picture shown is before brushing )

Attached Files:

2. Jamesgoeswalkies

Jamesgoeswalkies PetForums VIP

I would get practising with this to be honest - whichever breed parent she has taken after, both Yorkies and a Maltese need grooming so I would introduce her to accept being groomed daily using high level rewards. Many crosses produce quite unmanageable coats. And once you get on the cycle of having mats, grooming is uncomfortable for the dog which makes them dislike grooming even more.

To get to this stage it may be that you will have to snip out any mats that you can't untangle and start again. Use thinning scissors if you can - less dangerous! If the mats get too bad, when you do go to a groomers they may have to shave her down anyway - my wife had to preform a number of shaves on matted dogs when she was grooming - so a little snipping now may save that having to happen.