Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Mental lurcher

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Kenco1, Jan 15, 2020.

1. Kenco1

Kenco1 PetForums Newbie

Hi guys I'm new to this so please excuse me if I cock it up.
    I need some advice guys, I rescued a lurcher from my local cat and dog shelter 2 weeks ago and I must say he is lovely except for one thing, and that is he goes mental at about 4 am every morning now I was told it is caused through stress , could you tell me if this is right please and if so what can I do to try and calm it down.
    Or
    Any other advice I can get would be appreciated
    Thx guys
    K

2. Beth78

Beth78 PetForums VIP

How exactly does he go mental?
    What does he do ?

Torin. likes this.
  3. Kenco1

Kenco1 PetForums Newbie

It's like a play time for him running around the house bouncing on the furniture

4. Jamesgoeswalkies

Jamesgoeswalkies PetForums VIP

Early waking is either a habit (from previous environments) or more often quite simply that something has woken him and has got him going - as a lurcher I would think maybe something in your garden/outside? I know my dogs know if there is something in the garden in those early hours ......

Can't see why it would be stress - stress doesn't make you wake at 4am and run around the house bouncing off furniture imo.

You haven't had him long so I would give him time to get into a good routine. Where does he sleep? He needs somewhere where he won't be disturbed by garden/outside noises. If he wakes early then I would suggest no lights or long conversations just tell him to settle back down - be very calm and maybe find a chew he can amuse himself with. Don't give him attention or he will think 4am is morning!

Is he young?

J

5. Pammy Gsd

Pammy Gsd PetForums Junior

Anything going on outside the house , like wildlife visiting the garden , badgers foxes etc ?