Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Sign Up

Marine questions

Discussion in 'Marine Aquarium Advice' started by Paws Dawson, Oct 22, 2010.


  1. Paws Dawson

    Paws Dawson PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    I saw there were no posts in this section so if people have questions give me a shout :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Chillinator

    Chillinator Guest

    Now where does the name 'Paws Reef' ring bells? :D
     
  3. hawksport

    hawksport Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9,696
    Likes Received:
    348
    Welcome to the forum. What do you have,
     
  4. Paws Dawson

    Paws Dawson PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    :p

    Hawksport I currently have a custom build nano (26x16x14) and my partner and I run 2x 10ft and 1x 6ft coral tanks.

    My previous tank was 3x2x2 mixed reef but mostly LPS :thumbup:
    Have also run a 'trigger & tang tank' *sigh* i miss the triggers and tangs
     
  5. Chillinator

    Chillinator Guest

    I've seen a couple of your threads on UR (I'm not a member though). All are absolutely fantastic. :thumbup:
     
  6. Paws Dawson

    Paws Dawson PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ah cool, I get about on those forums when I can lol :rolleyes:

    I just submitted a post with a few pics of the previous tank in the gallery section so sure it will be up soon :)
     
  7. hawksport

    hawksport Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9,696
    Likes Received:
    348
  8. Paws Dawson

    Paws Dawson PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried to post some in galleries, said it had to be approved and my post never materialised :(
    Took me ages to pull up all the links to pics
     
  9. Highlander1975

    Highlander1975 PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to the site, we must get some pic`s of our reef tanks on here.:001_smile:
     
  10. ginge1965

    ginge1965 PetForums Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi paws, is it easier to set up a marine tank than a tropical tank? i really fancy a coral reef in my tank, seen them in the pet shop and they look really great with the fish swiming round it. do you put the coral in 1st, then the fish?
     
  11. hawksport

    hawksport Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9,696
    Likes Received:
    348
    If you are going to get diesease in marine fish it is most likely to happen in the first few weeks. Add the fish first, quaranteening each one. Then when the fish have all been settled for a few weeks start adding the corals. If you put the corals in first and diesease breaks out its almost impossile to catch them in a tank with corals in and most meds will kill corals so you can't treat them in the main tank
     
  12. ginge1965

    ginge1965 PetForums Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    forget this question, ive looked it up on google, you dont put the coral in till almost last. it looks a hellov a lot of work, but i think if i can master it it'll well worth it.
     
  13. kudagirl

    kudagirl PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    It is easier to set up a tropical tank then a salt water tank,with a tropical tank you dont have as many water changes to do they dont cost as much to set up as marine fish and not as much can go wrong.
    We have had a marine tank going for a few years now, and are now trying to keep seahorses and they are even harder.
    But if you have the time and money then you can not beat a marine tank for the lovely colours you can get from the fish.

    Sue
     
  14. Quinzell

    Quinzell PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    177
    The key is also to take things really slowly and stock your tank over a period of months rather than days, and of course make sure your tank is properly cycled first :)
     
  15. kudagirl

    kudagirl PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Gingel 1945
    We have a marine tank and it takes time to get it up and runing,once you have your tank you then have to fill it with ro water, then live sand ,living rock, and leave it for a few weeks until the water is ok that means there isno Ammonia, Nitrite Nitrate and lastly the PH is ok.
    After you have done all this you can then set up a qt so thet any fish you buy must go into a qt otherwise if you dont do this you could lose any of your fish, after a few months you may then think about corals

    Sue
     
  16. VixenFox

    VixenFox PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello all, new member here :)

    we have a marine fish tank, how do i post pictures on here?

    were having a few issues with red slim algae at the moment, cyan bacteria yet the tank has been set up for over 5 years.. going to get all live rock out today and have a scrub and change the reef around/setup. have tried treatments but does not get rid of it keeps coming back, there are no dead spots in our tank..any advice?
     
  17. Quinzell

    Quinzell PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    177
    I wouldn't recommend taking the rocks out and scrubbing them as potentially you will be removing beneficial bacteria.

    Do you have a phosphate test kit?

    How long have you had your lights for? It could be that they need changing.
     
  18. VixenFox

    VixenFox PetForums Junior

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is no phosphate in the system, as been running phoban for a while now in a reactor, and i run 10 aqua ray led's, I'm not going to remove all rock just the rock that has red growth on it..i think its a dead spot in my sump causing the issue :confused:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice