Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Lymphoma

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by Alfieboy12, Jul 12, 2020.

1. Alfieboy12

Alfieboy12 PetForums Newbie

This is really hard to write, my England Bull Terrier Alfie who is 12 years old has been diagnosed with lymphoma. We are all devastated as you can imagine and the vet advised against treatment as all his lymph nodes are swollen. I’m really after some advise on when the right time will be to let him go, he is still eating, he still managing a little walk but his neck is very swollen and breathing seems different. I was wanting some advise from people experience. This all seem so hard trying to make the right decision. Thank you

Attached Files:

2. Boxer123

Boxer123 PetForums VIP

Sorry to hear about your lovely dog. I have no experience of this but a week early is better than a week late. Has the vet given any indication?

3. JoanneF

JoanneF PetForums VIP

I am so sorry you are facing this. There is a scale used to assess our pets' quality of life when they are seriously ill. I understand it was developed for cancer care but the principles apply to any life limiting condition. What is their quality of life in relation to Hurt, Hunger, Hydration, Hygiene, Happiness, Mobility and More good days than bad days. You can find more detail here https://pawspice.com/q-of-l-care/new-page.html There is a saying, better a week too soon than a day too late. It's a terrible decision but one that responsible owners have to face. If it helps, the Blue Cross has a pet bereavement counselling service.

Alfieboy12 likes this.
  4. Leanne77

Leanne77 PetForums VIP

I had a dog PTS with lymphoma. Unfortunately he was already at stage 4 at diagnosis and I only had another 16 days with him.