Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

Lurcher racing and coursing

Discussion in 'Working & Sports Dogs' started by HannahBear19911991, Oct 25, 2017.

1. HannahBear19911991

HannahBear19911991 PetForums Newbie

Lurcher racing, straight racing, hurdles? Is it bad for the dog or is it good sport/activity as they are born to reach speed and their body is designed?

Recently become a member of the lurcher and racing club and although my pup is only 7 months and STILL too young to participate in racing it's something for the future. I'm new to all of this so any advice and insight would be helpful.
    His welfare and healthy comes first :)

Also there isn't much information online about coursing or racing as such. Any advice?

Thankee :)

2. Lurcherlad

Lurcherlad PetForums VIP

Like most things I would say once they are fully grown, are fit and healthy and only if the dogs enjoy it, participating occasionally should be OK and fun.

The problems occur if it's too young, doesn't enjoy it or it's too often as repetitive, hard exercise can cause injuries or long term joint issues.

Not something that would appeal to me though.

Torin. likes this.
  3. HannahBear19911991

HannahBear19911991 PetForums Newbie

Yeah I see what you mean :)
    I think the showing side of it would be nice. Obviously if the dog enjoys then if it's every few months then can't see the harm.

Lurcherlad likes this.
  4. planete

planete PetForums Senior