Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Leaving kittens for the first time

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by nn89, Aug 18, 2009.

1. nn89

nn89 PetForums Junior

This is my first time i've had kittens (have grown up with cats at the folks house) got two beautiful little kittens yesterday, and they're settling in gradually, still sleeping behind the sofa, have had a few accidents- but know where their food/litter tray is, I'm just really scared about leaving them alone!

I got nervous last night just going to bed and leaving them downstairs! I even got up at 6!! I dont know what i'm scared about, just missing them! I have to go out at 6.30ish tonight, and also got to go to work tomorrow evening aswell, and i have no idea how i'm going to cope!

Any tips, anyone else found it hard to leave their cats at first?

2. badbudgie

badbudgie PetForums Member

I am sure they will be fine, as long as they have access to all the essentials. I bet they will have a little explore whilst you are out, I would keep them in one room for now and gradually introduce them to the rest of the house.

We worry about our animals but generally they cope pretty well.

3. Spaniel mad

Spaniel mad PetForums VIP

We just acted as normal and just left when we got ours. Dont make a fuss of them just go

4. StuNo1

StuNo1 PetForums Junior

They will be fine. They will have a ball! I know how you feel. Hated leaving for work with our 2 all alone all day. Found poo on the floor but searched how to litter train and sorted that quickly. Like you these were my first kittens but my parents always had cats and kittens.