Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Leaving a dog alone

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Nette, Aug 12, 2009.

1. Nette

Nette PetForums Junior

Just looking for advice, but polite please.

I would like to get a miniature schnauzer and will have four weeks from getting it at home full time. We are very fortunate to have retired neighbours who will do anything for anyone as they are a bit bored and like to keep busy. So we are considering asking them when I go back to work to pop in and let the dog out and give it some fuss. If they say no (which will be a choice left to them entirely) then we won’t get a dog.

My husband is a PC and at the moment works days. Come 6 months it’s going to be mostly nights so the situation will change then. I'm a teacher so looking to get a dog asap as summer holidays.

Advice on whether what I’m doing is fair on a new dog please.

PS. I've said dog all the way through, selfishly I would like a puppy.

2. Spaniel mad

Spaniel mad PetForums VIP

If it was me i would wait until your hubby will be home in the day

3. Badger's Mum

Badger's Mum PetForums VIP

Sound's great if nxt door can pop in:D good luck.

4. Tamsin

Tamsin PetForums Junior

I think personally there isnt anything wrong with the way that you want to do things.
    You can introduce the dog to being left alone for periods of time throughout the day to start training it and if your neighbours will pop in then thats fine.

We got our Springer puppy and my mum was off work at the time - I think she only had 4 weeks off then she went back to work and popped home at lunch to let the dogs out and then when it became that she couldnt pop home at lunch the dogs were fine.
    Our puppy was kept with another dog though so she had company!

5. rona

rona Guest

Let me get this right, you are looking to get a dog now?

6. SEVEN_PETS

SEVEN_PETS PetForums VIP