Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Lateral thinking??

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by catz4m8z, Jun 30, 2010.

1. catz4m8z

catz4m8z PetForums VIP

How are your dogs at problem solving??
    Seeing as how Im a useless trainer mine really dont do much on command but I have noticed one of them (Heidi) looks at things very differently to the other 2.For example;
    Stairs- Adam and Hannah followed the route of going up, getting stuck, falling down them lots as puppies but Heidi practiced going up and down slowly increasing the amount of stairs she did so she never got stuck.
    Garden wall- Heidi has worked out how to climb the various bits of furniture to see over whereas the other 2 just stand at the bottom and bark!:rolleyes:
    Doggy barrier- I have wooden panels I slide into the doorframes if I want to keep the dogs out of a certain room. One is at the bottom of the stairs leading into the front room and totally thwarts Adam and Hannah but Heidi has figured out she can stand on the bottom stair and jump over at an angle!

I never really thought of her as clever coz she is so excitable and bouncy all the time but she does seem to see things the other 2 dont!:)

2. PedigreeUK

PedigreeUK PetForums Member

That's really interesting - Heidi's able to think of other ways around problems. It sounds as though she's pretty smart. Do Adam and Hannah copy her, once she's found a solution?

Wispa's worked out one or two things - she will now nudge open a door that's pushed to, for example.

But I once owned a cat that worked out how to use door handles - I don't think Wispa's ever going to be as smart as that cat! (Shhh - don't tell her I said so! ;))

Janet

3. Bex190

Bex190 PetForums VIP

Otto is much better at problem solving than Alfie.