Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Kitten Seizures

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by catcoonz, May 19, 2017.

1. catcoonz

catcoonz PetForums VIP

Any advice, good or bad please.

Have a 7 month old kitten who is having full body seizures lasting 2 minutes, it takes her across the room and drooling.
    She has just started phenoleptil 3 days ago and we are having more than before.
    Unable to walk, very weak in both back legs.

Is it normal for seizures to increase at the start of anti-epilepsy tablets?

How long is long enough with seizures and medication before quality of life comes into question?

Thank you.

* Mods, please feel free to move this, i placed in cat chat as i need some answers today*

2. ewelsh

ewelsh PetForums VIP

Hello I have no knowledge but couldn't read and run.

I hope your able to gain useful information for your little one.

Poor little thing x

catcoonz likes this.
  3. MilleD

MilleD PetForums VIP

I can't help much, but I've done a search on the medication increasing seizures and can't see anywhere that says it does. There are issues of rebound seizures when taking off medication, but I can't see anywhere that says it increases them initially.

Sorry I can't be much help. Poor cat :(

Calvine and catcoonz like this.
  4. buffie

buffie Mentored by Meeko

Sorry CC another with no advice to offer,I really hope the kitten will be okay x

catcoonz likes this.
  5. MilleD

MilleD PetForums VIP

Is @Ceiling Kitty around to possibly give you some advice about the meds?

catcoonz likes this.
  6. vivien

vivien PetForums VIP

I can't offer any advice either, sorry but I didn't want to read and run either. Poor little mite. Try ringing the vet to check on her medication. If I'm ever worried my vet will always say whether it could be the medication escalating symptoms or not. I hope she feels better soon.

Viv xx