Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Kitten Food?

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by stacebkb, Oct 25, 2012.

1. stacebkb

stacebkb PetForums Newbie

Hiya,

I'm still new to the world of cats, we have had our kittens for almost 2 weeks now and are feeding them Whiskas Kitten food (wet).

From reading various threads on here I realise I am basically feeding them junk food and want to get away from that! I have looked on Zooplus at the different types of food, but haven't really found much 'Kitten' food. Can I feed them food that's not specifically for kittens? They are 11 weeks old and I don't want to upset their tummies by feeding them something they can't digest.

Also, does anyone have any suggestions on how I make the change? I feed them 4 times a day at the moment, should I swap one of the meals to the new food and gradually increase it until every meal is the new food?

Thanks for any advice :)

2. Jansheff

Jansheff PetForums VIP

Yes you can feed any good quality cat food to kittens, they don't need "kitten" food. Rather than replacing an entire meal with the new food, serve up the old food, replacing a spoonful or so with the new, so they're mixed. Next day, increase the new, decrease the old and so on, gradually, until they're eating all new. You've more chance of them accepting it and avoiding them getting the runs if it's done gradually.

3. stacebkb

I didn't think of doing it that way, thanks for your reply. I will be placing my first Zooplus order tonight :)

4. wicket

wicket PetForums VIP

Well done on being interested so early on in your kittens nutrition - I have a litter of 9 week old kittens at the moment and they are doing great on canned Bozita (all life stages) and animoda carny kitten - no runny bums at all and they love it.

5. stacebkb