Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Keeping indoor cat amused??

Discussion in 'Cat Training and Behaviour' started by Lucy Bradley, Nov 26, 2019.

1. Lucy Bradley

Lucy Bradley PetForums Newbie

Hi, I'm a newbie so apologies if this is the wrong board.

I have a 4 year old cat (Taffy) who we rescued in September. He was initially incredibly timid and scared at first but with encouragement he came out of his shell and has come very far in a short time.

My concern is that he is not active or stimulated enough - Taffy has to stay inside because he has FIV. We allow him freedom to roam about the house, so he can get into the attic and any of the bedrooms. When we are both at work all day, I open the blinds so he can see outside but (from what I have seen) he doesn't show any interest in jumping up on the windowsills to look out.

We have tried him with toys but he is still jumpy and is intimidated by the movement of your arm when playing and tends to run away. We got him a ball that lights up but he was afraid of that too! Poor kitty has clearly had something quite scary happen in the past.

I have considered getting him a cat tree but he's a very big cat and while I don't think he'd break it, he'd be too big for the hiding spaces and possibly the platforms. He also doesn't really like to feel fluffy fabrics under is feet- we have a fluffy rug in the porch and he will do anything to avoid stepping on it!

Sorry that was a lot of information but I'm just wondering if anyone has any advice about how to make the environment more interesting for him? He was depressed at the rescue and hardly ever left his den, and I really don't want that to be the case at our house as well. Thanks for any ideas!

2. MissFluffy

MissFluffy PetForums Junior