Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

KC registering

Discussion in 'Dog Breeding' started by Niamh, Jun 14, 2010.

1. Niamh

Niamh PetForums Newbie

Lollipop is due her puppies on 8th July so Im trying to get as organised as I can now.

She was mated with a pedigree Shih Tzu but she herself is not a pedigree- she came from the same situation- daddy was pedigree but mum wasn't.

Im wondering do I register these puppies on KC? Generation certificates etc??

I've never done this before and I wanted to get it all correct before I offer any puppies for sale.

2. hawksport

hawksport Banned

You can't register them.

3. Acacia86

Acacia86 PetForums VIP

As Hawksport has already said, you can not register them. Both parents need to be registered for their puppies to be.

4. rocco33

rocco33 PetForums VIP

As Hawsport says, you can't register them with KC. Both parents have to be registered KC dogs in order to register them.

What is more important than registration (as these are non KC registered pups), is that you provide aftercare advice to the new owners. Obviously you should be on the end of the phone, but writing out notes on various topics like toilet training, health, care during a season (and neutering) etc are very important.

If you have their pedigree you could print something out using either word or excel, but please make it clear to puppy buyers that this is not registration. Some think any paperwork given is registration and are disappointed to find out it is not and they can't do the activities with their dogs they wanted to.

5. Lucy1012

Lucy1012 PetForums Senior

As above both parents need to be registered in order to register the pups with the kennel club.