Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Is this normal ???

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by JennieJet, Aug 17, 2009.

1. JennieJet

JennieJet PetForums Member

My 22 week ok lab puppy is always on the scrounge for food 24/7....is this what they do ??? She is constantly looking for food even on walks and will literally eat anything.... my hubby says this is what puppys / dogs do and will eat themselves til they are sick . I am new to dogs so dont really have a clue. She will bolt her own food down so quick but has no problems if I touch it, take it away etc but god help me if she manages to steal some of our food...she will turn proper nasty until she has completely swallowed it and then she is back to her normal happy self. Her full on nastyiness scares me as I do generally fear that she will proper bite me as she goes into full snarl, hair up etc......please help ???

2. rona

rona Guest

A lot of Labs are totally over the top when it comes to food.
    Do you make her wait before she eats?
    Puppies often behave like this as they have had to fight for their food with their litter mates.
    The aggression is a little worrying, how do you react when she steals something, do you try and get it off her calmly or do you make it an issue?

3. Spaniel mad

Spaniel mad PetForums VIP

Our labby was the same when she was little

She grew out of it

4. Dundee

Dundee Banned

It's perfectly normal - labradors are well known for it.

She's still a puppy and needs teaching how to behave in a human household, it's not nastiness.

I don't like the method of taking food away from dogs as I think it only teaches them that the human coming to their food bowl will take it away and they need to be on their guard. In dog terms, a dog in possession of food will be left alone, there is no rank, even the lowliest dogs will guard their food.