Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Is it aggression ?

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by JennieJet, Jun 30, 2009.

1. JennieJet

JennieJet PetForums Member

Please help....I am a little worried ( my husband says there is nothing to worry about but as I am new to puppies I thought I would double check ) I have a 15 week old black female labrador and when she does something wrong I will tell her no. Yesterday she dived into the paddling pool and started biting my 3 year old so I pulled her out and said no .....what followed scared me........ she went down low...her front legs were right down and her bum was in the air and she was barking, growling and actually snarling at me ...when I went to approach her to say no to that behaviour she never went for me but just darted around keeping in the same position.........this went on for about 5 mins or so until I was able to grab her collar and say no again and she then just laid down on her back .......is this nasty aggressive behavoiur or as my hubby said " just playing" ???? it was quite scary especially with the snarling etc !!! ( just scared as I dont want her to ever attack the children etc )

2. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

Havent got time to type a full answer, but it is just play and perfectly normal.

Aggression in a dog so young is extremely rare.

3. alphadog

alphadog PetForums VIP

That's a play bow - elbows on the floor and bum in the air. She was trying to initiate play

4. Blitz

Blitz PetForums VIP

as other say just play. Not good though if you were trying to tell her off, you need to get training her and understanding her behaviour a bit better before she gets out of control. Are there any puppy classes being held around you.

5. JennieJet

THANK GOD FOR THAT.......What do I do next time she does it ?? Do I ignore her or play with her ? thanks

6. rona

rona Guest