Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Interested in having a persian cat

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by bagpussbear, Oct 17, 2013.

1. bagpussbear

bagpussbear PetForums Newbie

Hello, newbie here :eek: I've been recommended to this forum and wondered if there any owners of Persian cats on here please, that I may ask your advice please?

I am thinking about adopting a Persian cat, from a Persian rescue home.

I am an experienced cat owner, and currently have 1 cat (from the RSPCA and non-pedigree) but I have no experience of Persians.

I’ve been researching about the breed online, but there is nothing like having advice from people who actually have them of course!

Could anyone give me their personal insight on their general temperament please? are they chatty, lazy, playful? Any medical conditions that are common to the breed? Do they generally take to other cats like my own who are non-persian? I would like to adopt an older cat, rather than a kitten.

We are out the house about 9 hours a day Mon-Fri, although my son is around a bit more as he’s at college and doesn’t go in every day. Would that be a problem, as I know some cats are more human ‘needy’ than others.

I would be grateful for your thoughts please, thanking you in advance

2. Iheartcats

Iheartcats PetForums VIP

Hi! Welcome to the forum :) There are a few Persian owners here. I have moggies so can't help you regarding caring for one personally but just wanted to reply to your thread just to welcome you and say hi!

Lots of people recommend if you have an exotic breed to keep them as house cats and of course a Persian needs regular grooming to keep their magnificent coat in tip top condition :)

3. CockersIndie

CockersIndie PetForums VIP

Sorry if there is an obvious answer but why is that?

4. bagpussbear

Thank you :)

5. Iheartcats

Iheartcats PetForums VIP