Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Im pregnant but feel so guilty - Advice Needed Please.

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Becci-in-Hull, Jul 5, 2009.

1. Becci-in-Hull

Becci-in-Hull PetForums Junior

As many of you know I recenty bought Marley and he came to join our family home. He is a Labrador Retreiver Puppy and is nearly 10 weeks old.

We got him home I started training almost straight away and now he is a very different pup to the one I got. He plays and gets involved with the family and all in all he has a fabulous temprement.

The reason I feel so bad is because I have just found out Im pregnant and Im worrying about him. The reason being is that I fear that I wont be able to give him the attention and training he needs and deserves as I suffer with SPD in pregnancy and also with other medical problems that made me bed bound and in and out of hospital when pregnant with my daughter and they are 98% chance of reacuring in this pregnany.

I love Marley to pieces, as do we all but Im worried that he wont get the time, care, attention, exercise, etc that he needs. I just think at this age there is a good chance of re-homing him with a loving family where he can get everything he needs.

On the other had we all love him and want him to stay with us and we hate it when people buy dogs and then boot them out when kids come along.

The thing is my hsband keeps having a right go at me for even thinking this way but Im just trying to think ahead.

I would hate it if Marley got got older and because I havnt trained him enough that hes gidy around the newborn and ends up getting locked in the other room or something. Also if he was to become really untrained Im worried that I wont be able to cope and then noone will want to re-home him.

Seriously its so hard trying to explain what I mean on here as Im not very good at putting things into words.