Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

I'm planning on buying a puppy, but I have no experience. HELP!

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Megaan, May 31, 2010.

1. Megaan

Megaan PetForums Newbie

My family is planning to buy a puppy after we move into our new home.
    The problem is, I'm a first time dog owner and I don't know what breed I should buy, and what are the things I should look out for.
    Simply saying, I know nothing about taking care of dogs. :confused:
    I wanted to buy a Siberian Husky, but I researched abit and I found out they shed alot.
    Should I get a Siberian Husky?
    What breed do you suggest for first time dog owners?
    And to those experienced dog owners out there, please share some advice, it would be of great help! Thanks! :)

2. Nicky10

Nicky10 PetForums VIP

Huskies aren't easy dogs incredibly intelligent but not inclined to listen to you, very high energy need a lot of exercise, high prey drive so can only be let offlead in safe areas. I wouldn't recommend them for first time owners.

What kind of dog do you want in terms of size, exercise, grooming, friendliness with children or other animals, friendly and cuddly or more aloof.

3. WeimyLady

WeimyLady PetForums Senior

Siberian Huskies are not for first time dog owners!

What is your planned schedule for the puppy? do you work (with a puppy, full time work is not generally compatible)? are fully aware of the commitment needed for the next 12+ years?

4. keeleyjane19

keeleyjane19 Guest

Maybe go to a rescue....they can match a dog up to your experience and lifestyle. If not, then get a Jack Russell or Labrador, something that is family friendly and relatively "easy" to manage.

Labradors can be pullers, but are loving bouncy and fun.

My JR is a sweetie and loves everyone, not saying all JR will be like that, some are yappy.