Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

I'm new to DIY raw feeding.

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by Chris Mason, Jan 21, 2019.

1. Chris Mason

Chris Mason PetForums Newbie

I just need someone to check my maths.

All three of my dogs are premade raw fed and I'd like to move over to doing some DIY raw meals (I don't plan on going full DIY, we don't have the time sadly)

The first meal I'd like to do is:
    lamb heart(122g),
    chicken feet(31g -roughly 45% meat 55%bone)

Lamb liver(8.5g)
    Lamb kidney(8.5g) (or what ever we can find organ wise)
    +
    Cotswold Shepard's mix + organic tumeric powder.

If my maths are correct this will be 80% 10% 5% 5%.(170g per meal for the eldest dog) I know raw feeding can be balanced over the course of the week but these meals will be fed along side pre-made raw and I know I'll forget and struggle to keep it balanced if I don't prepare meals like this. We chose chicken feet as she's a senior, we chose hearts as we can get a good deal and we will choose what ever organs are available.
    Feel free to correct this recipe or improve it.
    She's a senior and on 170g per meal - mixed breed (rescue-Romanian street dog)

Thank you, kindest regards

2. JessandJackson_x

JessandJackson_x PetForums Member

Be careful not to overfeed her.

Paelo Ridge have a calculator on what you should be feeding daily: https://paleoridgeraw.uk/raw-dog-food-calculator

I wouldn't over obsess with the % especially if she's older.

@niamh123 is a firm-believer on give your dog what you think is enough for them; i 2nd that.

It only ends up coming out the other end sooner or later! If she's a street dog I am assuming she has long walks so that'll help her walk it off

3. Chris Mason