Welcome!

Welcome to PetForums, the UK's most popular and friendly pet owners community. Please 'Sign Up' if you'd like to take part and contribute to our forum.

I want to be a responsible dog owner, how do people navigate work around their dog?

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by SamanthaInScotland, Dec 4, 2018.

1. SamanthaInScotland

SamanthaInScotland PetForums Newbie

Hi everyone, this is my very first time posting.
    I work part time and have two children, four and eight. We live in a three bed semi with front and back gardens in a country village. My current job is one I took after graduating in my field but is fixed term so I will need to look for another one in the new year.
    My son's and I really would like a dog, really. They talk about it a lot, and my eldest has for a long time. There are dogs at their grandparents house so are used to them. We are active, I don't drink and much prefer walking or MTB to the pub! I realise a dog is a huge commitment.
    But, please advice on how you fit a dog into your life around work? I thought perhaps I could pay for a dog walker to come for an hour?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. Boxer123

Boxer123 PetForums VIP

It's doable we have a dog walker but took me ages to find someone I trusted ! Things to bear in mind are

Puppy or adult dogs ? Lots of dogs in rescues who would love a comfy sofa.

Holidays- we take the dogs but haven't been abroad since we got them

After school activities can extend time dogs are left on their own so it takes planning.

Lots of families have dogs initially take some time off to settle them and get into a routine.

Oh and do not get a new beige carpet!

rona likes this.
  3. rona

rona Still missing my boys

A lot of people manage with a walker, I know as I am one.
    I think it would be best to leave dog until you know what your work commitments will be but there's no harm in planning.:)