Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Hunting Instinct

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by RachyBobs, May 13, 2010.

1. RachyBobs

RachyBobs PetForums VIP

Do you think you can ever learn a dog to not do this at a older age? Only reason I ask is Blush is fine with my hens (they roam free round my yard) Hattie on the other hand cant help her self and has to chase and grab them and while she grabs them they die of shock :( Someone asked me if I could ever learn her to not do this but I have tried and it just doesnt work.. its there and its there to stay. :confused:

2. LostGirl

LostGirl PetForums VIP

You can teach anything really i guess

Im no expert but i guess i would properly do a long line, when shes trying to chase the chickens, recall her back or use a sound to get her attention i.e. a shout/whistle/rattle and then treat her when she comes back.

I doubt it would ever go away as such, but you could get her to think twice about it, it would mean always watching over her near chickens e.t.c

3. Phoenix&Charlie'sMum

Phoenix&Charlie'sMum PetForums VIP

I wish I knew too!!

My Charlie, 5 year old Saluki X Grey was used as a Hare Coursing dog, so now when we go out he's "on the hunt" all the time and when we let him off lead he zooms off 2 fields ahead!

We had a professional trainer in and he is helping us with his recall and we have to train the STOP command so that he doesnt run so far away.

His recall is getting better, his stop is slightly better but his "on the hunt" mode I dont think will ever go away. Im thinking of getting those bungee type leads as I feel like my arms are growing inches every time I walk him! :lol:

4. catz4m8z

catz4m8z PetForums VIP