Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

How much to feed

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by nutsandbolt, Oct 24, 2012.

1. nutsandbolt

nutsandbolt PetForums Newbie

I am fairly new to cats in the household and haven't got the foggiest idea when to increase Nutz and Bolts food.

They are over 6 months old and have Aldi's wet with a handful of kibble in their bowls each day, between the pair they eat 1 tin of food a day.

I had them weighed on Monday and the vet wasn't helpful in letting me know how much they should eat.

They each weigh 2.5 kilo.

2. spid

spid PetForums VIP

How much does a handful of dry weigh? What is the recommended amount? At 6 months they are still growing and should be allowed as much as they want really.

3. Cookieandme

Cookieandme PetForums VIP

And how big is the tin of food ?

4. hobbs2004

hobbs2004 PetForums VIP

Indeed and what brand are you feeding them?

5. nutsandbolt

The tinned food is a standard tin 400g which the pair share.

Just measured the kibble and they get 25g each.

I vary their type of cat food they get. They turned their nose up to felix!

6. spid

spid PetForums VIP

But what brands are you feeding - it makes a difference?

7. nutsandbolt

Aldi's own brand - rabbit & turkey, salmon, beef & chicken and chicken

8. Cookieandme

I tried to look at the website and there are no feeding recommendations, are there any on the packaging.

I don't feed dry so can't picture what 25grms is, but how do you know they are eating an equal amount.

Is there any chance you could reduce the dry and increase the wet food as it will be better for them in the long run. How many wet meals do they get a day.

9. nutsandbolt

Nothing on packaging at all, i give them quarter a tin in the morning, dry about 12ish depending on how quickly they've eaten their morning feed and the rest of the tin at 4ish.