Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

how many times to kitten poo a day?

Discussion in 'Cat Training and Behaviour' started by o3osaraho3o, Oct 12, 2019.

1. o3osaraho3o

o3osaraho3o PetForums Newbie

My BSH 4 months old kitten used to poo once a day, always after having breakfast between 9:00-9:30 am.

This somehow changed a few weeks ago that he would go for poo once or twice a day at anytime randomly.

The poo shape and colour and everything look normal but just wanted to ask (as Im new and total beginner)
    if that's normal for kittens to change and increase their poo times as they grow

I haven't changed the amount of food he eats. Its given the same exact amount so was just curious haha I know this probably isn't something to be seriously concerned about.
    But would be great if you guys share what you know and how your cats are

2. o3osaraho3o

ah and also another thing, do you guys wipe cat's bum after the poo?

I didn't for the first few weeks but he likes to come up on my bed and sits on the pillow, which sometimes left nice brown marks everywhere lol

so I tend to wipe his bum gently (more like tapping) after he use the litter for poo, would that be too stressful to him?

3. lorilu

lorilu PetForums VIP

What's his diet?

Excessive poop means he's not digesting his food, as does poop that is soft and getting smeared on his bottom. I don't think two poops a day is unusual for a kitten, but since up until now he was only going once and if it's so soft it's getting smeared on his bottom there is definitely something going on.

Stools should be firm and formed two or three tootsie roll shaped pieces, that shouldn't leave residue on him.

chillminx likes this.
  4. o3osaraho3o

Hey thanks for the advise