Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

How Many Of You Use A Dog Harness

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by JANICE199, Jun 27, 2009.

1. JANICE199

JANICE199 PetForums VIP

In the car?
    I've never used one before and i'm thinking of buying both Mia and Kai a harness.Do the dogs have enough room to lay down and move about a little or are they restricted like we are when wearing a seat belt? :confused:

2. Savahl

Savahl Guest

i have one for buster, he has plenty of room to get comfy although does get him tangled sometimes :(

3. JANICE199

JANICE199 PetForums VIP

Thankyou, so not realy a good idea for a long journey?Perhaps i'll stick to using their crate.:D:D

4. haeveymolly

haeveymolly PetForums VIP

Ive thought the same thing, i have seen a picture/advertisment for one a while ago and the dog looked like it was sat in the seat, didnt look like it would be able to move around much which is i suppose is what the harness is meant to do. Mine are in the boot i have a hatch back so loads of room, contained but are able to move around sit or lay.

5. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

Ive used them on my boys on the few occassions they've been in a car. They were both able to sit, lie down, and get comfy. The problem came when they tried to swap sides.

6. Freyja

Freyja PetForums VIP

Mine do have harnesses but I prefer to put them in the boot in crates. We took William my greyhound to Great Yarmouth on the back seat wearing a harness. Due to traffic problems it took us about 6 hours to get there. He was fine and seemed to prefer to be on the seat than in the boot.

My setter Zoe can take a harness of in about 2 seconds so she has to be crated abd some of the whippets have discovered that if you stand on the seat belt fastener they can unclip themselves.

7. JANICE199

JANICE199 PetForums VIP