Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Hi there I'm new to this..

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Lyndon, Aug 17, 2018.

1. Lyndon

Lyndon PetForums Newbie

Hi there ..I'm new to forums but I thought I'd join to hopefully get some help and info. We recently 4 weeks ago got a beautiful border collie pup she's 12 weeks old now ..we lost our cocker spaniel last year after 12 1/2 Years he was a lovely boy and we thought long and hard to get another dog but if you're a doggy you're a doggy. We thought border collie as I love walking and know they love it too ..now we have our Einstein ponche I want to know I'm doing the right things..she can sit ...lay down ..stay for a few steps away from me ..walking on lead a little. She loves learning but I don't know if I'm expecting too much I need to know how much I should do with her at this age ? And also how to stop separation anxiety as she cries at the back door or if she's in her crate for a few minutes..also nipping I've heard of herding ? I love my little bundle of joy and am looking forward to growing up with her to when we are out in the woods . How hard will the next month's be ??

Attached Files:

2. Sunlark

Sunlark PetForums Junior

New to this too but don't worry the separation thing gets better if you work on it :) mine is about 15 weeks now and she's gone from screaming the house down if she blinked too long in case we left, to being perfectly happy to put herself in her crate for a few hours. I've found giving her something to chew really seems to burn a lot of her energy, more than playing fetch even. But 2 short walks twice a day with some time on long lead practicing recall/sit etc is keeping her occupied for now. New places tire her out more than ones we've been before, and new people too. Next 2 weeks are gonna be good fun for you!

3. lullabydream

lullabydream PetForums VIP