Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Help me - dog digging

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by Eleanor Jones, May 24, 2018.

1. Eleanor Jones

Eleanor Jones PetForums Newbie

Hi there
    Im having lots of trouble with my rescue pointer/springer. We've had him two years and in the last couple of months his minor digging has become major digging.

He is walked twice a day in different places, we hide a Kong, treats and even leave cardboard boxes with toys or treats or scent drops hidden in the house or garden EVERYDAY!!!

He has run of the house and garden all day long and we have even created him a digging pit (as per advice on digging dogs) with buried treasures and scents.

Everyday in the last few months I've come home to shredded plants and destroyed flower beds. I'm a professional gardener so I'm in pieces about the state of my expensive and precious garden.
    We've even then to sticking thorny rose stems and sticks in the ground to try and deter but to no avail.

Ive got no idea what to do as we couldn't possibly provide any more simulation for him in the day and exercised morning and evening. He's always been hardwork with the mix of those two breeds. A mind of his own and a high hunting drive mixed with the troubled rescue past, makes him high maintenance.

Please help I'm on my knees!!! We've also got our first baby due in 7 weeks so could this be related????

Ellie Jones

#1 Eleanor Jones, May 24, 2018
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
  2. tabelmabel

tabelmabel PetForums VIP

I think the only solution is to fence your digging pit and pop your dog in to dig away!

It must be a breed thing. My friend is driven spare with her springer digging up her garden and my brittany digs bits of turf and eats them too.

So close supervision when you're around and containment (of your dog, plants or both!) when you're not.