UK Pet Forums Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I will be picking up our new working cocker x toy poodle next weekend and am in the middle of the maze that is what to feed him. I am torn between Applaws, Barking Heads or Fish4Dogs. Im slightly put off of F4D because of the smell and am leaning towards Applaws but after reading until my eyes hurt I am still not 100% - is the protein content just too high? At the moment Doodle is being fed cheap supermarket dry so I realise anything would be better than that but am just looking for a little guidance please. If anyone can spare some advice. Thanks - and please be gentle coz I'm new to all this!:)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Sixstar

Thanks for the welcome. I have looked through your index, I keep going back to it over and over! I think I've made the final decision then I come across another post or website or review which makes me question myself. This is not easy and I haven't even got him home yet!! :confused:

·
Registered
7,176 Posts
Can I advise that you buy a small bag of what you've decided on to start off with? I've have sacks of this and that in my garage as my dog decided she would rather starve than eat it. And that includes fish4dogs and Applaws. :mad:

Unless you happen to live in Essex and want some half opened bags.....?:)

·
Registered
13,034 Posts
My take on those 3 would be

Barking Heads is a good quality middle of the road food - if I remember correctly the lamb one is best.

Fish4Dogs is a great cereal free food that loads do v well on. Personally I have this thing that dogs dont naturally opt for fish as a food base so Heidi has fishy treats but meat based food.