Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Hello, I'm new to all this!!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Waldo78, Nov 23, 2012.

1. Waldo78

Waldo78 PetForums Newbie

Just new to all this but have a very strong feline family, will be asking a few questions to all you experienced out there, looking for a good dry cat food for my cats, at the moment they are on barking meow but I am not sure this is good for them, was thinking of trying porta 21 finest dry and carny wet what do you all think? Wallace my youngest his father which was a Maine coon died nearly a year ago this January with HCM, we thought to have Wallace tested for the gene but decided against it knowing what he would face whether he has the disease or not, the vet has told us to increase his taurine levels, read about feeding him chicken hearts or substituting his meals with a taurine supplement, not sure which is best?? We also have daisy who is overweight due to scrounging every1 else's meals�� and kitkat who has FLUTD which is under control, ozzy and Mitchell are the only ones with nothing wrong with them, so need an all round good food for every1's needs if possible, any ideas would be really appreciated as going on what others say for food ideas but everyone has different preferences!!

2. Knightofalbion

Knightofalbion PetForums VIP

Welcome to the forum!

3. RabbitMonster

RabbitMonster Banned

Not sure if OP will come back or not, but just in case:

Dry food isn't great for cats, sure they love it but we love McDonald's and cake, it doesn't mean we should eat it every day!

Wet food often has more taurine in them than dry and are better for your cats hydration - cats aren't obligate drinkers as they get most of their fluid from their food. If you feed dry, they'll not get in much fluid!