Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Have I made a mistake?

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by Joesy, Mar 10, 2017.

1. Joesy

Joesy PetForums Newbie

Firstly, I have to say I love cats, I've had a cat or two for most of my life and have loved them to bits. BUT I've just adopted a beautiful little rescue cat and I'm wondering if I've done the right thing.

Background info:
    My previous rescue cats, Smartie and Rolo died in 2014 and early 2015 respectively.. aged 15 and 16, after long and happy lives.
    I was widowed unexpectedly in July 2015 and have moved house and started to rebuild a new life. I work as a temp and have a good circle of friends and a very busy social life. I have always thought at some point I would like another cat but something had been holding me back.. 2 weeks ago I was introduced to a beautiful 2 year old rescue cat who is very small, quiet but friendly. I fell in love with her and without any more thought agreed to adopt her. After all I'd always had cats so thought it could only be a good thing......but

Here's my dilemma, I am worrying now that I have made a mistake and am out and about too much, volunteering, working when I can, visiting friends and family and having friends to stay. I wonder if I'm being fair to her? Should I have waited, and if I had would I have thought it though more and realised that she would be alone too much and walked away. Previously my husband worked from home and so one or other of us was nearly always there. Oh dear, what to do?

The cat rescue said they would take her back if for any reason it didn't work out and I know there were other people interested ( as she is a little timid, they wanted a quiet household with no small children or other pets )

Any advice welcome.

2. Shrike

Shrike Brooke's faithful manservant