Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Hamsters

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by rainbow.nicola, Apr 5, 2011.

1. rainbow.nicola

rainbow.nicola PetForums Member

Hey.

I've been searching around about Hamsters but I'm not really sure which I should/could look after. Unless I got a Syrian I would like to have a pair, I'm a little worried about making sure the sex is right though as I don't trust pet shops and such (They wouldn't be the ones with all the little hammy babies). Also, I'm not sure which Hammys my cage would be suitable for, bar size and that. I've only had a Syrian before so I'm not very experienced.

Hagen LivingWorld Small Pet Home Exercise Dome: Great Deals on Small Pet Cages at zooplus

I also read somewhere that you can't really handle dwarf hamsters, they're more for watching rather than interacting with you.

All advise appreciated! :)

2. thedogsmother

thedogsmother PetForums VIP

Dwarfs are really handleable, mine were anyway, the only difference I can think of is Syrians apparently dont ever get untamed if you dont handle them for long periods while apparently dwarfs do (not a theory Ive tested though). The cage though isnt ideal for more than 1 hammy, its a lovely cage but because its got more than 1 level they can become territorial over seperate levels and guard them from the other hamsters (especially ladders or tubes). With groups of hams you need to be very careful, have one wheel each, seperate houses so they can have one each if they choose and tubes are best avoided, scatter feed rather than a food bowl so that cant be guarded and I used to use 2 water bottles too. Mine never fought at all but just in case you would need one spare cage for every animal so you can seperate them immediately if any serious fighting occurred. Having said that I highly reccomend dwarfs they were lovley pets and I really miss them.