Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Hammy Question!!!

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by rainbow.nicola, Aug 18, 2009.

1. rainbow.nicola

rainbow.nicola PetForums Member

Hello everyone!

As you all probably know i'm a bit of a noob when it comes to Hamsters and such. I feel abit silly asking buttt i thought better to ask and find out it's nothing than not ask and it might be something =] and you all seem to be somewhat professionals lol!

So here it is. While i'm waiting on my Wodent Wheel to come i'm using the hamster ball with an opening and stand! I didn't want to deprive her of her fav toy!

So when i change her cage i take the wheel out and rinse it in very hot water and towel dry it as i think she may be peeing in it! (you can hear her little feet stick to it lol) and she poo's in it too! (Hard to get out sometimes! lol) But anyway, usually when she pees in it it's clear so you can't tell until you look close! But when i came home today there was a trail of white stuff all around the wheel where she's been running, i was wondering what it was... is it pee? it it something else? it is okay? does she have a problem? is it a mystery? I don't know maybe you can help me :D

Thanks in advance,

Sorry if it's really noobie and i was abit silly to ask! I'd rather know for sure than worry that what i think is wrong lol!:smilewinkgrin:

2. Akai-Chan

Akai-Chan Banned

Have you checked your hammy over to see if she's got any white stuff on her? Particularly check her lady bits and urethra in case it;s something coming from there.

Peace
    Akai-Chan

3. MerlinsMum

MerlinsMum PetForums VIP

Ahh the white stuff is calcium deposit - hamsters and rabbits wherever they pee tend to leave this, it's like limescale. White vinegar will get it off.

4. rainbow.nicola