Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Greyhound Rescue Question

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by nerd of prey, Jun 29, 2009.

1. nerd of prey

nerd of prey PetForums Junior

Hey,
    I'm not currently looking for a dog as I live in rented accomodation but I'm feeling quite depressed living without a pet dog (I keep visiting doggy relatives and friends!) I feel jealous when I see dog walkers...but anyway to try and deal with my growing dog broodiness I'm planning when I can get a dog, hopefully this time next year as fingers crossed I should be on my way to being a homeowner and have a permenant teaching job (I am currently a trainee teacher).

However I wondered if anyone knows if greyhound rescue places will let full time workers adopt? I have never had a greyhound before but my family have owned various breeds cockers, collies, setters. I just think they seem like lovely dogs and as they are quite calm I would be able to train one to be left whilst my partner and myself are working (although my mum and grandparents have offered to pop in at lunchtimes), especially if I got one at the start of the summer holidays I would have two months to focus on training (as I should be a teacher by then so will have school holidays). I enjoy walking dogs and would happily walk it 2-3 times a day and I would like to have a go at dog agility or cani X, even though I know this isn't the most suitable breed for these activities I would just like me and the dog to have a hobby we could do together to strength our bond.

I just wanted to know if greyhound rescue places will let full time workers adopt as I know some rescue places have policies on this. I have no cats or children, any experiences or stories on adopting greyhounds or help and information gratefully recieved!

2. rona

rona Guest

Why don't you email or phone them and have a chat
    It can't hurt :)