Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Giving eye drops to an uncooperative cat - please help!

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by CarolineG1, Apr 6, 2011.

1. CarolineG1

CarolineG1 PetForums Newbie

Hello, I'm a newbie here and need some advice.

My cats both have eye infections and we've been given eye drops for them.

Bruno is fine and, while he doesn't like it, lets us put the drops in his eyes with minimal fuss.

Polly on the other hand, absolutely refuses to let us give them to her. All the videos I can find on the internet use fairly cooperative cats to demonstrate how to do it, but she fights, scratches, bites and hisses to get away from us if we try to do what they suggest.

Does anyone have any tips on how to give eye drops to cats that become aggressive when you try? She's such a sweetie otherwise, but detests anything going near her eyes.

The vet has given her a 2 week antibiotic injection but she was doubtful this would work on it's own and said we really need to use the topical drops. They both have FIV as well, so we really need to get the infection cleared up before it gets any worse but we are out of ideas.

Thanks!

2. gskinner123

gskinner123 PetForums VIP

It's a devil of a job, isn't it? :eek:

Have you tried wrapping her firmly - I won't say 'tightly' as that conjures up the wrong image! - in a bath towel? If you can get her well wrapped, front paws included of course, and whoever is holding her wrapped up also gently scruff her neck to hold her head still... well, I won't say it's always a doddle but it can work.

3. CarolineG1

It is indeed!