Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Giving Blood?????

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by snoopydo, Jan 28, 2012.

1. snoopydo

snoopydo PetForums VIP

Have any of you done it? I've got the chance to give blood on Wednesday morning. I've never done it before so your views would be good.:)

I Want to do it as You know you could be helping people even saving them and you never know whats around the corner we could need it too at some point.

2. paddyjulie

paddyjulie PetForums VIP

i used to do it :D stopped now though as they have trouble finding my vein..but if you can.. go for it :D

3. delca1

delca1 PetForums VIP

I give blood every few months. Sometimes you can feel a scratch when they put the canular in but I couldn't say it hurts. I tend to book a time rather than just turn up so there is hardly any waiting. It's well worth the doing as it saves lives.
    Good luck, you'll be fine :)

4. DoodlesRule

DoodlesRule PetForums VIP

i haven't as always struggle finding a vein. My brother does and my grandad did as well - he had a rare blood group so they often came to fetch him in the middle of the night. Got a certificate somewhere because of how much blood he gave

5. Space Chick

Space Chick PetForums VIP

My OH does regularly.

I can't due to the Medication I am on :(

6. Sled dog hotel

Sled dog hotel PetForums VIP

I gave blood quite a few times quite a few years ago now. I dont think they would have much luck getting any at the moment they have trouble getting enough for my Thyroid and other blood tests.

I never had any problems though, and it didnt bother me at all. All depends really how squeamish you are in the first place I suppose and how brave you are feeling.

7. smokeybear

smokeybear PetForums VIP

I give blood twice a year, you can do it three times a year, but I am not always around for all of them.