Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Sign Up

Getting A Robo Hamster Tomorrow

Discussion in 'Rodents' started by JohnKay, May 15, 2010.


  1. JohnKay

    JohnKay PetForums Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi All :D, Im Getting a robo hamster tomorrow
    i have a peggy metro for it, is that okay :)

    Thanks in advance :)

    John.
     
  2. K1nS

    K1nS PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Am I right in thinking its a bad idea to have that cage due to the tubes? I don't think they are big enough to climb up the tubes :confused:
     
  3. Flissy

    Flissy PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    48
    I think the bars might be a bit wide for a robo but I'm not 100% sure as I've never had robos (hopefully one day though :))
     
  4. momentofmadness

    momentofmadness PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    15,314
    Likes Received:
    240
    The tubes are big enough for my syrians.. so id think a Robo would have no problem.. As for bars Im not sure but Mimi hasn't fitted through them and she is the size of a week old syrian...
     
  5. Flissy

    Flissy PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    48
    I think they meant a robo wouldn't be able to climb up them :D
     
  6. K1nS

    K1nS PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought robo hammies was smaller, like dwaf hammies :p
     
  7. Emmiiee

    Emmiiee PetForums Senior

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ive got a robo! wow its mental I can't actally hold it, its way to fast!!
     
  8. happysaz133

    happysaz133 PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,746
    Likes Received:
    80
    Is it a baby you are getting? If so, be careful, I know robo babies have escape through the bars on that cage before. Also, its unlikely it will be able to use the tubes. Personally, I'd go for a flat level cage like a mini Duna or Savic Rody.
     
  9. JohnKay

    JohnKay PetForums Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    7
    Its 13 weeks old.. so i dont know if that it still classed as a baby?
     
  10. Lady Sol

    Lady Sol PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    14
    My robos wouldn't be able to climb the tubes on a Peggy Metro.

    Whether they escape is up to the hamster. I think Acorn could escape from one, Himalaya wouldn't bother trying and I'm not sure about Scoobie. I don't think he could because of where the door is positioned.

    Good luck with the taming. I've found a storage box works best for grabbing them from.
     
  11. srhdufe

    srhdufe PetForums VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,507
    Likes Received:
    199
    I think your better off with a tank for a robo or an all plastic cage with bars on the roof.

    They are great escape artists :)

    A hagen zoozone is a lovely cage, though you have to mesh the top as the bars are too wide for hamsters, with it being a rabbit cage :)
    They often have these cages on ebay
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice