Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Getting a dog whilst working full time?

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by ab1385, Jul 11, 2009.

1. ab1385

ab1385 PetForums Newbie

Hi there,

I appreciate that this topic has probably been done to death elsewhere, but I'm new here so go gentle on me!

I have grown up all my life with dogs around so I'm well aware of how much work and attention dogs require. Having now moved out of the parents house, I'm now 26 and married, but work full time. Both my wife and I desperately want to get a flat coated retriever (or maybe two) and are trying to figure out the best way of doing this, or if it's possible at all to do so without being cruel to the dog(s).

I'm a doctor working some strange shift patterns, so will be at home during the day one week in 6, but most of the time we'd both be out 8.30 to 17.30. I know that this would be cruel for a dog, so we're trying to find ways around this. I've found a few dog walking companies around Cardiff who could walk the dog everyday from, say, 12.30 to 13.30, meaning that they would never be left alone for much more than 4 hours. My sister is a student and so would probably be able to pop in and say hello for 30 minutes most days, at least whilst he's still a young pup.

I'm quite willing to pay for a dog walker, and when we got it/them we'd take a lot of time off work to get him used to being with us, but would this realistically be enough to keep a dog happy? Being social creatures would they have less problem being left alone for 4 hours at a time if we were to get two?

What are people's thoughts? Is it possible to get a dog or two and keep them happy whilst working full time, by doing things like hiring a dog walker?

Thanks for your input!

Alex (and Deb) :)

2. Varkhond

Varkhond PetForums Member