Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Frozen Food

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by blossom21, Nov 19, 2012.

1. blossom21

blossom21 PetForums Senior

Sorry if this topic has been posted elsewhere. In certain pet shops you can buy the frozen chicken mince/lamb mince/tripe mince etc. Can anyone tell me if they know how nutritous these actually are.Many years ago when I had my yorkie and chihuaua they adored the tripe one.

2. pogo

pogo PetForums VIP

I personally don't like them, they have a very sloppy watery texture.

Are you wanting to feed them along side kibble or feed them solely raw?

3. blossom21

With Kibble not on its own.

4. Goldstar

Goldstar PetForums VIP

I don't like them either, bought a couple of rabbit/chicken ones recently and they just look grey and sloppy when defrosted. I have been buying the tripe for a few months but that's only because I can't get it anywhere else.

I won't be getting anymore minces in.

I prefer whole meats for Lucky, looks more appealing and Lucky prefers it :)

5. catsandcanines

catsandcanines PetForums Member

If its the prize choice minces I add 25% of steamed, mashed veg to Sadie's 400g block plus fish oil, but she doesn't have kibble.

What kibble are you feeding?

6. pogo

pogo PetForums VIP

I'd rather add extras in like chicken wings or lamb ribs, or any bits you can get from the butchers. Alot better then the frozen blocks

7. Pinkchi

Pinkchi PetForums Member

I use the prize choice blocks/mince at the moment

Not had any issues with it except louie refuses to eat the turkey one now, but ate it fine to begin with and eats all others fine.

It is fairly watery....but was easy to get and use while I had limited freezer space. Now I have my own dedicated raw freezer will be ordering from a raw supplier/butchers.