Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Foster kittens

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by Sorcha, May 28, 2010.

1. Sorcha

Sorcha PetForums Senior

Hi everyone :)

This weekend Cats protection are bringing over some kittens for me to foster.
    Tomorrow I'm going out for supplies. Any ideas for the best litter, food and other things I might need?
    This is my first time fostering and although I've taken care of kittens in the shelter I used to work, doing it at home is a bit different.
    Wish us luck!! Specially the kittens of course :D

2. Tje

Tje Banned

heyyy Sorcha, you’re gonna love fostering!! De beste wensen met je kleine knuffelbeestjes.

Do you know how old they are? Do they have a mum? How many kittens are there? Or is it all just one big surprise, lol.

Cat litter I would say a wood base (natural ) one, as opposed to something clay or clumping based… this is just because the kittens can (and do) eat the cat litter.

Our shelter (dierenasiel) insists all kittens are fed on Royal Canin Baby or Kitten dry biscuits, so mine do get some of that, but I try to expose them to as much different food sorts as possible. I don’t buy the special kitten wet foods… I just use the adult varieties, and mash them up a bit with a fork or some warm water if needed. A lot of fosterers mix some warm water through the dry biscuits for the very small kittens, I don’t like doing this as a) it goes hard and almost solid very quickly and b) I’ve read putting water on biscuits is a bad idea as it promotes the growth of bacteria. I also give them things like raw mince, raw minced chicken, some chicken heart/liver finely chopped… and boiled chicken or plain white fish boiled.